

Executive Board

Annual session Rome, 24–28 June 2024

Distribution: General Agenda item 10

Date: 15 May 2024 WFP/EB.A/2024/10-A

Original: English Administrative and managerial matters

For approval

Executive Board documents are available on WFP's website (https://executiveboard.wfp.org).

Appointment of two members to the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

Draft decision*

The Board approves the renewal of the term of two members to the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee as follows:

- Mr Darshak Shah (Kenya), from 15 November 2024 to 14 November 2027; and
- Mr Veerathai Santiprabhob (Thailand), 15 November 2024 to 14 November 2027.

Focal points:

See selection panel membership in paragraph 2 Mr P. Ward

Secretary to the Executive Board
Executive Board Secretariat Division

email: philip.ward@wfp.org

^{*} This is a draft decision. For the final decision adopted by the Board, please refer to the decisions and recommendations document issued at the end of the session.

WFP/EB.A/2024/10-A 2

Background

1. Under the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee revised terms of reference,¹ the Board approves the appointment of Committee members on the recommendation of a selection panel consisting of five representatives, one from each of the electoral lists of the Executive Board, appointed by the Board.

- 2. The composition of the selection panel was approved by the Board at its 2024 first regular session:
 - H.E. Ms Consolata Nkatha Maina, Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of Kenya, as representative of List A.
 - Mr Md. Al Amin, Alternate Permanent Representative of Bangladesh, as representative of List B.
 - Ms Alicia Silvana Barone, Deputy Permanent Representative of Argentina, as representative of List C.
 - Mr Peter Natiello, Alternate Permanent Representative of the United States of America, as representative of List D.
 - H.E. Mr Zsolt Belánszky-Demkó, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Hungary, as representative of List E.
- 3. The first term of two members of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee Messrs Darshak Shah and Veerathai Santiprabhob will expire on 14 November 2024. In accordance with paragraph 22 of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee revised terms of reference, these members may be considered for reappointment for a second and final term of three years.
- 4. The selection panel held consultations to assess the potential reappointment of the above members of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee and concurred that, upon review of their profiles and the input of the Chair of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee, as well as the work outcomes and other materials, these members:
 - Had served one term as member of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee and expressed in writing an interest in the renewal of their tenure;
 - had demonstrated a strong commitment to WFP by participating in regular meetings each year as well as in frequent teleconferences convened to prepare for these meetings and to discuss other relevant issues;
 - had fully contributed to the discussions of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee through their extensive knowledge and experience in technical areas within the remit of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee; and
 - had conducted the self-assessment required as part of the work plan of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee and in line with best practice.
- 5. In view of the above, the selection panel recommends to the Board that the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee members with term ending on 14 November 2024 be renewed for a second and final term of three years.

.

¹ See: WFP/EB.2/2021/9-A.