

Executive Board

Annual Session Rome, 18–22 June 2018

Distribution: General Agenda item 6

Date: 11 May 2018 WFP/EB.A/2018/6-B/1

Original: English Resource, financial and budgetary matters

For approval

Executive Board documents are available on WFP's website (https://executiveboard.wfp.org).

Appointment of three members to the Audit Committee

Draft decision*

The Board approves the renewal of the terms of three Audit Committee members as follows:

- Mr Suresh Kana (South Africa), from 15 November 2018 to 14 November 2021;
- Mr Omkar Goswani (India), from 15 November 2018 to 14 November 2021; and
- Ms Elaine June-Cheung (China), from 15 November 2018 to 14 November 2021.

Focal points:

See selection panel membership in paragraph 2 M

Ms H. Spanos

Secretary to the Executive Board Executive Board Secretariat Division

tel.: 066513-2603

^{*} This is a draft decision. For the final decision adopted by the Board, please refer to the decisions and recommendations document issued at the end of the session.

WFP/EB.A/2018/6-B/1 2

1. Under the Audit Committee terms of reference,¹ the Board approves the appointment of Committee members on the recommendation of a selection panel consisting of five representatives, one from each of the electoral lists of the Executive Board, appointed by the Board.

- 2. The composition of the selection panel was approved by the Board at its 2018 first regular session to include:
 - Her Excellency Lineo Irene Molise-Mabusela, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Lesotho, as representative of List A;
 - ➤ Mr Yousef Juhail, Counsellor and Permanent Representative of Kuwait, as representative of List B;
 - Ms Mónica Fonseca Jaramillo, Minister Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative of Colombia, as representative of List C;
 - Ms Elizabeth Petrovski, Alternate Permanent Representative of the United States of America, as representative of List D; and
 - Mr Evgeny Vakulenko, First Secretary and Alternate Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation, as representative of List E.
- 3. The first terms of three members of the Audit Committee Mr Suresh Kana, Mr Omkar Goswani and Ms Elaine June Cheung will expire on 14 November 2018. In accordance with paragraph 22 of the Audit Committee terms of reference, these three members may be considered for reappointment to a second and final term of three years.
- 4. The selection panel held on-line consultations to assess the potential reappointment of the three members of the Audit Committee and concurred that, upon review of their profiles, work outcomes and other materials, these three members:
 - had served one term as members of the Audit Committee and each expressed in writing their interest in the renewal of their tenure;
 - had demonstrated strong commitment to WFP by fully participating in three quarterly meetings each year as well as frequent teleconferences convened in preparation for these meetings and to discuss other relevant issues; and
 - had conducted the self-assessment required as part of the Audit Committee work plan and in line with best practice.
- 5. In view of the above, the selection panel recommends to the Board that the three Audit Committee members with terms ending on 14 November 2018 be renewed for a second and final term of three years.

.

¹ See: WFP/EB.2/2017/5-B/1/Rev.1*