

Executive Board First regular session Rome, 26–28 February 2018

Distribution: General Date: 23 February 2018 Original: English Agenda item 10 WFP/EB.1/2018/10-A Other business **For approval**

Executive Board documents are available on WFP's website (http://executiveboard.wfp.org).

Appointment of five Executive Board members to the selection panel for the appointment of three Audit Committee members

Draft decision*

The Board approves the establishment of a selection panel in relation to the appointment of three Audit Committee members. The Board also approves the appointment to the panel of the following members of the Executive Board:

- Her Excellency Lineo Irene Molise-Mabusela, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Lesotho, as representative of List A
- Mr Yousef Juhail, Counsellor and Permanent Representative of Kuwait, as representative of List B
- Ms Mónica Fonseca Jaramillo, Minister Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative of Colombia, as representative of List C
- Ms Elizabeth Petrovski, Alternate Permanent Representative of the United States of America, as representative of List D
- Mr Evgeny Vakulenko, First Secretary and Alternate Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation, as representative of List E

The Board requests the selection panel to convene and to report its recommendations to the Executive Board in accordance with the terms of reference of the Audit Committee.

Focal points:

Ms H. Spanos Secretary to the Executive Board Executive Board Secretariat Division tel.: 066513-2603 Mr A. Crespel Chief Translation and Documentation Branch tel.: 066513-2075

^{*} This is a draft decision. For the final decision adopted by the Board, please refer to the decisions and recommendations document issued at the end of the session.

- 1. Under the Audit Committee terms of reference,¹ the Board approves the appointment of Committee members on the recommendation of a selection panel consisting of five representatives, one from each of the electoral lists of the Executive Board, appointed by the Board.
- 2. The first terms of three members of the Audit Committee Mr Suresh Kana, Ms Elaine June Cheung and Mr Omkar Goswani – will expire on 14 November 2018. In accordance with paragraph 22 of the Audit Committee terms of reference, these three members may be considered for reappointment to a second and final term of three years.
- 3. A selection panel is to be constituted with a view to filling the vacancies resulting from the expiration of the first terms of Mr Kana, Ms Cheung and Mr Goswani.
- 4. Following discussions in the Lists, the Bureau proposes that the following Board members be appointed to the selection panel:
 - Her Excellency Lineo Irene Molise-Mabusela, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Lesotho, as representative of List A
 - Mr Yousef Juhail, Counsellor and Permanent Representative of Kuwait, as representative of List B
 - Ms Mónica Fonseca Jaramillo, Minister Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative of Colombia, as representative of List C
 - Ms Elizabeth Petrovski, Alternate Permanent Representative of the United States of America, as representative of List D
 - Mr Evgeny Vakulenko, First Secretary and Alternate Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation, as representative of List E
- 5. The selection panel will meet in March 2018 to begin the process of selecting the candidates that it will recommend to the Board for appointment or reappointment. Its recommendations will be submitted to the Board at its 2018 annual session.

2

 $^{^1\,}See:\,http://docustore.wfp.org/stellent/groups/public/documents/eb/wfp293126.pdf$